http://tracking.redportglobal.com/TrackSuper busy kick-off for #exxpeditionroundbritain

I took the train to Plymouth on Sunday, and had a great conversation with a new friend on the way.  The space between Totnes and Plymouth feels like the last moment of calm. I can’t wait for a night watch!

On Sunday night four of us converged in a great AirBnB in Plymouth and promptly went to the pub. First thing Monday we converged on Sea Dragon sitting on the dock at Sutton Harbour. Whirlwind briefings, frantic unpacking and introductions took an hour or so before an excellent lunch prepared by mate Holly. More briefings and introductions followed before our first casting off!  We motored about 100 yards to another pontoon outside Plymouth University’s marine headquarters where we *launched* #exxpeditionroundbritain properly.  Many thanks to the microplastics team there who have been great champions of our work.

We returned to our own pontoon and straggled to bed. I was exhausted. This morning has been spent on a beach clean and boat tours. (Though I’ve spent the morning doing some work – that’s #freelancelife for you.) And now we are settling down to a full scale boat and safety briefing.  We’re due to leave at 1830 to 1900. 

Sky news will have a drone up for our departure so look out for us. The press coverage has been astonishing: it’s great people are so interested and I hope inspired to reduce their reliance on plastic.
(When I’ve persuaded my iPad to show me a photo I took on my phone – there will be pictures.)

This time tomorrow we will be in the Bristol Channel, due to arrive at the Barrage in Cardiff at 0800 GMT (that’s 0900 BST) on Thursday morning. See you there.

About Sarah Tanburn

I'm a writer, a sailor and a strategic adviser to public organisations. Visit my websites to find out more.
This entry was posted in Plastic and pollution and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment