Winning for ‘Switzerland’

In case you missed it on FB and Twitter, on Saturday, at Get Writing 2012, run by the estimable Verulam Writers Circle, I won their short story cup.  And here it is, in all its shiny glory. I am so thrilled to have won.  The judge of the final three was Michael Rowley of Ebury Publishing. He was lovely (and yes, of course I’d think that).  He was very complimentary about the story, saying that it caught the essence of a moment just as a short story should.

Some people have asked when they can read it.  I’m not posting it yet for two reasons.  Firstly, part of the (very generous) prize is a critique from Cornerstones consultancy which will make the story even better.  Secondly I might be able to publish it elsewhere and simply posting it here might spoil that chance.  So wait a wee while, people.

Of course, any agents or editors who want to see it, you’re very welcome and I will send it to you immediately.

It was a splendid day and I met loads of interesting people including agents and editors who I will be contacting.  I also met fellow litopians Geoffrey Guiver and blog-queen Morgen Bailey in the flesh at last.  Geoffrey, who won last year, swears this lovely cup is only on loan and he’ll have it back next year.  We’ll see about that!

This story about assisted suicide is inspired by lots of events, some of which are sad.  I am grateful to Jenny and Huw who commented on the draft in an unreasonably short time and helped to make it much better.

About Sarah Tanburn

I'm a writer, a sailor and a strategic adviser to public organisations. Visit my websites to find out more.
This entry was posted in On writing, Policy commentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winning for ‘Switzerland’

  1. Many congratulations, once again, Sarah. You deserved it, but I’ll look forward to next year’s battle!
    Do you want to swap this year’s stories?

  2. Excellent news! Let me again, here, congratulate you! 😉

  3. Pingback: Switzerland: winning short story online. | Sarah Tanburn

Leave a Reply

