Seven lines for seven writers

I have been passed my Lucky 7 by the lovely Laura Wilkinson, a writer chum I interviewed on this site when her novel Bloodmining came out..

Lucky 7 is just a bit of ‘blog fun’ for authors. I’m new to tagging, so I hope I get it right.

The instructions are:

Go to page 7 or 77 in your current manuscript
Go to line 7
Post on your blog the next 7 lines, or sentences, as they are – no cheating
Tag 7 other authors to do the same

Here is the seven line extract from page 7 of my story Daughter of the Ark, one of my series about seafaring women.

God’s vengeance came in the middle of the night when the earth gave a mighty heave. We were woken by the sudden noise. Rain was drumming on the decks, setting the animals to squealing and stamping. Boats scraped against the wharfs and ropes creaked as the current pulled at us, and the waves splashed, kicked up by the wind that howled, plucking at lines and cloth so they too flapped and banged. The cliffs were groaning, and rocks tumbled down onto houses and cabins and the boats where our neighbours slept.

The final challenge is to pass this Lucky Seven on to seven authors (Like Laura, I hope this is not the point at which everyone hits the ignore button.) :

@GeoffreyGuiver
@womnsrightswrtr
@iancundell
@morgenwriter.co.uk
@effiemerryl
@raindrop666
@Seneca24

About Sarah Tanburn

I'm a writer, a sailor and a strategic adviser to public organisations. Visit my other websites to find out more.
This entry was posted in On writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seven lines for seven writers

  1. Sarah,

    OK, I’m game. I don’t have a blog, so here’s the 7th-14th lines from the 7th page of SWANMAIDEN. I’ll tag 7 more writers by email. Let the games begin!
    Geoff

    Silence. At first just the deafening absence of breaking metal, and for a fleeting moment Fergus had time to wonder that he lived. Sights and noises started to push into jangling wrongness of his head. Gravel sounds of disintegrating glass. Further away, the heavy thumps of a wheel still bounding downwards through the trees. Crushed branches shedding wood and leaves. And above the collapsing airbags, the glimpse of shattered banners of windscreen that turned light into diamonds at the rim of a void.
    Then the pain hit.

Leave a Reply

